Rules & Regulations
News Archive

Slalom Ranking List

Production Board List

An ISAF "International" windsurfing class
& founder member of the International Windsurfing Association

News Archive
Wind wind wind on the last day of the IFCA Freestyle Junior World Championships!
Posted On:  01/07/2013 10:08:51

The last skippers meeting of the event was held super early and the wind was already blowing nice and strong. A single and double elimination were scheduled and completed. French kid Sam Esteve had a great day but the tough windy and wavy conditions gave him a hard time to find his groove.

Yesterday's third place Riccardo Marca was kicked out by Kostya Smirnoff from Russia who really gave all he got to climb up to a podium position and not to forget a last second move that ended on the rocky coast line which made the difference in the final scores.

The winner of the first double elimination was Jonthan Yagen from Israel. Unfortunately he got injured after advancing into the final round for the second double elimination and was carried away by the Medic crew. After a long hour he finally felt well again and was able to go sailing again to complete the final heat which would decide who the IFCA Freestyle Junior World Champion was going to be.

The Final between Jonathan and Steven was very tense, Jonathan took the lead in the first half of the 5 minute heat and some how struggled with performing clean moves towards the end of the final heat. Steven sailed more relaxed with technical moves and a fluent style. Both riders won a double elimination and the final decision was made regarding to the winning heats of the two competitors during both eliminations and Steven had 1 extra winning heat and took the 2013 IFCA Freestyle Junior World Champion title.

Overall Results

IFCA Freestyle Junior World Championships:

1. Steven Max ARU-888
2. Jonathan Yagen ISR-02
3. Kostya Smirnoff RUS-1
4. Riccardo Marca ITA-988
5. Sam Esteve FRA-78
6. Mats Moyson BEL-159

Thumbs up for the Moussilmani Brothers and their wonderful event crew, Tom Hartmann, Lucy Zuiderwijk, Cedric Viard and everyone else who has supported this event.

IFCA/Ruben Petrisie Images by: Lucy Zuiderwijk/Moyson

IFCA Facebook e-mail IFCA IFCA twitter